EUROPEAN CONFERENCE

FROM TAMPERE 20 TO TAMPERE 2.0

Helsinki, 24 & 25 October 2019







DRAFT PROGRAMME

(confirmed speakers only)

	Day 1		
8.00 AM	Registration		
8.45 AM	WELCOME		
	Jorma Vuorio, Director General, Migration Department,	Ministry of the Interior for Finland	
	Maria Ohisalo, Minister of the Interior for Finland		
9.00 AM	OPENING PLENARY		
Speakers	Paavo Lipponen, former Prime Minister of Finland		
	Filippo Grandi, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees		
	Antonio Vitorino, Director General, International Organisation for Migration		
	Michael Spindelegger, Director General, International Centre for Migration Policy Development		
	INTRODUCTORY PLENARY		
10.00 AM			
Speakers	Antti Peltomäki, Head of the EU Commission Representation in Finland and Finnish Representative in the negotiation		
	of the 1999 Tampere Conclusions		
	Evangelia Tsourdi, Assistant Professor and Dutch Research Council grantee, Faculty of Law, Maastricht University		
	Nina Gregori, Executive Director of the European Asylum Support Office		
	Bernd Körner, Deputy Executive Director of the European Border and Coast Guard Agency		
	Despina Chatzimanoli, Senior Legal Expert at European Banking Authority		
11.15 AM 11.45 AM	Coffee Break		
Speakers	SESSION II: FINANCIAL FRAMEWORK		
эреакегз	Hanne Beirens, Associate Director of the Migration Policy Institute Europe		
1.00 PM	Iris Goldner-Lang, Jean Monnet Professor of EU Law, Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb Lunch		
1.00 P WI	PARALLEL WORKSHOPS		
	PARTNERSHIP WITH THIRD COUNTRIES	FAIR TREATMENT OF THIRD-COUNTRY NATIONALS	
2.00 PM	SESSION I: MIGRATION AND DEVELOPMENT	SESSION I: LEGAL MIGRATION	
Speakers	Vincent Chetail, Professor of International Law and	Jean-Christophe Dumont, Head of the International	
•	Director of the Global Migration Centre, Graduate	Migration Division, OECD	
	Institute Geneva	Kees Groenendijk, Centre for Migration Law and Emeritus	
	Gibril Faal, Visiting Professor in Practice at the Institute	Professor, Radboud University	
	of Global Affairs, LSE	Laura Corrado, Head of Unit 'Legal migration', DG Migration	
	Kristiina Kumpula, RCRC EU Office Co-ordination Group	and Home Affairs, European Commission	
	Chair, General Secretary of Red Cross Finland	Mireille Paquet, Associate Professor, Political Science	
	Dessislava Choumelova, Head of Unit, Demography,	Concordia University	
	Migration and Governance, Joint Research Council	Ave Lauren, National Coordinator, EMN Estonia	
3.30 PM	Coffee Break		











PARALLEL WORKSHOPS



4.00 PM SESSION II: GLOBAL APPROACH AND PARTNERSHIP FRAMEWORK

Speakers Elspeth Guild, Jean Monnet Professor at Queen Mary, University of London

> Giulio Di Blasi, Cabinet of the EU HR/VP with responsibilities on Asylum and Migration Ola Henrikson, Director of the Regional Office for the EU, Norway and Switzerland, IOM

Inmaculada Vazquez, Representative to the EU and NATO of Médecins sans Frontières

SESSION II: INTEGRATION AND VALUES

Ilke Adam, Research Professor at the Institute for European Studies of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel Daniel Thym, Chair of Public, European and International Law, University of Konstanz Tapio Luoma, Archbishop of the Evangelical Lutheran **Church of Finland** Thomas Huddleston, Research Director, **Migration Policy Group** Kristina Stenman, Mayor of Pietarsaari, former Director, Migration Department, Ministry of the Economy for Finland Ali Sayed Razawi, Director General and Chief Imam of the Scottish Ahlul Bayt Society Torsten Moritz, General Secretary at Churches' Commission

for Migrants in Europe

MANAGEMENT OF MIGRATION FLOWS

5.30 PM End of Day 1

Day 2

COMMON EUROPEAN ASYLUM SYSTEM

SESSION IN ASVI IM POLICY 0 /E ANA

8.45 AM	SESSION I: ASYLUM POLICY	SESSION I: SCHENGEN AND BORDERS
Speakers	Boldizsár Nagy, Associate Professor of International	Marie De Somer, Head of Migration and Diversity
	Law, Eötvös Loránd University	Programme of the European Policy Centre
	Lyra Jakuleviciene , Professor of international and EU law at Mykolas Romeris University	Oliver Seiffarth , Acting Head of Unit 'Border management and Schengen', DG Migration and Home Affairs, EC
	Catherine Woollard, Secretary General, European	Tanja Fajon, Member of the European Parliament, S&D
	Council on Refugees and Exiles	Hugo Brady, Advisor for Justice and Home Affairs, Cabinet
	Sophie Magennis , Head of Policy and Legal Support, UNHCR Representation for EU Affairs	of Donald Tusk
	Jessica Däbritz, Head of Directorate 'Migration,	
	Refugees, European Harmonization', German Ministry of the Interior	
10.00 AM	SESSION II: DUBLIN AND SOLIDARITY	SESSION II: RETURN AND READMISSION
Speakers	Eiko Thielemann, Associate Professor in Political	Magnus Ovilius, DG Migration and Home Affairs, EC
	Science and Public Policy, LSE	Tamás Molnár, EU Agency for Fundamental Rights
	Francesco Maiani , Associate Professor of European Law at the University of Lausanne	Elise Muir, Head of the Institute for European Law of Catholic University of Leuven
	Henrik Nielsen, Head of Unit 'Asylum', DG Migration	Jean-Pierre Cassarino, Senior Research Fellow at College of
	and Home Affairs, EC	Europe, Natolin campus, Warsaw
	Vladimír Šimoňák , Head of Unit 'Home Affairs', Permanent Representation of the Slovak Republic	Maria Gavouchidou, European Centre for Returns, European Border and Coast Guard Agency
11.15 AM	Coffee Break	
11.45 AM	PRESENTATION OF THE DRAFT REPORTS	
12.15 AM	FINAL PLENARY	
Speakers	Jean-Louis De Brouwer, Director of the European Affairs Programme of the Egmont Institute	
	Mari Kiviniemi, Managing Director of the Finnish Commerce Federation, former Deputy Secretary-General of OECD and former Prime Minister of Finland	

Demetri Papademetriou, Distinguished Senior Fellow, Co-Founder and President Emeritus of the Migration Policy Institute

Paraskevi Michou, Director-General, Migration and Home Affairs, European Commission

1.30 PM **End of Conference and Lunch**







